The Frozen North

It has been a long and cold January.  One of the coldest winters for us ever, and one for the record books.  The Governor closed schools on at the beginning of January for the first time since 1998, because of the cold.  The temperature was -28 below with a wind chill of -44 below when I woke up that morning.  Individual school districts closed the next day on their own, the temps not being much better.  Last week, districts were once again closed on Thursday.  This week, yesterday and today, which interfered with my sidekick’s final exams of the semester.  Temps have been in the upper teens below zero with wind chills in the 20’s and 30’s below.

This almost NEVER happens.  As a kid, I remember having snow days.  But I NEVER remember missing school because of the cold.  Yes, we get way below zero with an average of 24-25 below zero temps each winter.  You can see the statistics here in this article.  The article names the Twin Cities the coldest city/cities in the U.S.  I live about 30 miles NW of the Twin Cities.  About average, the temps are 5-10 degrees colder than what the Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport reads.  And when it has warmed up the 1 or 2 days, it has snowed.  We have a lot of snow already this year.  It’s not even the snowiest month yet.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like winter.  I love the snow.  I like it more when it hovers between 20 and 30 ABOVE 0.  I go for winter photo walks all the time. We’ve hiked in 10 degree weather. We’ve bundled up and gone to the refuge Winterfest two years in a row, last year it was 5 above.  I drove for three years without heat in my Blazer.  I got my beautiful Snowy Owl pick in frigid temps.  I’m not a wimp by any means.  That being said, it’s cold.  Damn cold.  Except for having to go to work and to the gym, and the “necessary” grocery store runs and dance invitationals, we haven’t been out much.  And we’ve been drinking a lot of hot chocolate!

Cabin fever made me venture out beyond work today.  Just for a bit on my lunch hour.  It was a balmy -9 below with -22 below wind chill.  I drove around my town  (I will be doing a blog about my town all on its own soon) getting pics of this and that in the cold.  A few Golden Eyes and swans down by the river, but took off when they saw me approaching.  Even a bunch of robins puffed up in a tree.  Too far away to photograph.

But I got a few things, some I didn’t have to get out of my car for.  I have also added some of the photos that I have taken over the past couple weeks for my Project 365, mixed in with my Sunday Snippets that I have not posted.

Looking at 22 degrees ABOVE zero tomorrow!  I say we put the top down on the convertible!

Enjoy!

The river in the bitter cold
The river in the bitter cold

IMG_0167

Frigid Sunset
Frigid Sunset
Forever in peace may you wave
Forever in peace may you wave
Sunset on the water tower at just the right time.
Sunset on the water tower at just the right time.
Hi beautiful
Hi beautiful
Handke Pit getting ready for Hockey Day Minnesota
Handke Pit getting ready for Hockey Day Minnesota
My baby girl, Chloe.
My baby girl, Chloe.
This is what bottled water looks like when you leave it in the car and it's below zero.
This is what bottled water looks like when you leave it in the car and it’s below zero.
Apples to Apples
Apples to Apples
I wanted the moon, I got the snowkmobiler on the lake.
I wanted the moon, I got the snowkmobiler on the lake.
Frozen window, it was 12 below and 26 below wind chill.
Frozen window, it was 12 below and 26 below wind chill.
She's discovered a knitting loom, better than that dang phone
She’s discovered a knitting loom, better than that dang phone
Needs the snow to be cleared off the lake
Needs the snow to be cleared off the lake
My tracks in the snow
My tracks in the snow
Snow path
Snow path

IMG_9547 IMG_9539 Day 23

Frozen cat tail.
Frozen cat tail.
A snowy walk when the weather was warmer
A snowy walk when the weather was warmer
Out of place
Out of place
3rd Place Championships this day.
3rd Place Championships this day.
Perfect Timing
Perfect Timing
2nd place, not too shabby
2nd place, not too shabby
JV Jazz 2nd place in the JV Championship.
JV Jazz 2nd place in the JV Championship.

 

3 thoughts on “The Frozen North”

Leave a Reply

